Burley Manor’s first recorded owner was Forester Roger de Burley way back in 1212, before the lands were forfeited to the crown. Following this the manor has passed through many owners before we begun creating the next chapter of its history and restoring this historic beauty back to glory.
The current building was built by Colonel William Clement Drake Esdaile, who became its owner in 1852 and demolished the original building. The colonel was a magistrate and Verderer – custodian – of the New Forest. By 1935, the manor had become a hotel and it has served guests ever since, apart from a short spell as a military HQ when it was requisitioned by Lord Montgomery during the war.
Declared a royal hunting ground in 1079 by William the Conqueror, the New Forest is defined by ancient woodlands, stunning heathlands and beautiful coastlines. This unique landscape remains untouched by time, immersed in old customs and history, where ponies have been known to roam freely since medieval times.
The vision was to capture the historic essence of the building yet bring a relaxed approach to its food and atmosphere to create something unique. The result is a restaurant and rooms with elegance, warmth and simple style, set in eight acres of stunning grounds, alongside Burley Park – a red deer sanctuary.